Let Your Smartphone Work For You

Amanda Mae
4 min readFeb 20, 2024
Photo by camilo jimenez on Unsplash

Probably the biggest problem people have with their smartphone is that there is an app for everything, and some of them are easier to open and waste time on than others. How wonderful that there IS an app for everything, but hoo-wee. This is a known irritant we’ve all experienced, and I’ve been trying at various times over the years to trick myself into not opening the doomscrolling apps, but to make better use of my smartphone with something more productive and rewarding.

I want my smartphone to work for me, not the other way around. I want my handheld computer to be a support and a boost for my productivity. I want it to help me live life better. So what are some things I’ve done or tried out?

Widgets

I wasn’t much of a widget user until recently. It’s helpful on my phone to have a few apps that I want to be more aware of be more prominent on the small screen. What apps do you want to see more readily? What goals of yours can your smartphone help you with? For me, I have reading goals and language learning goals, so I have Duolingo and Kindle widgets prominent on my home screen to think about them more and select those apps before others.

Arrangement

I play with where certain apps are a lot. “Hiding” apps in folders, and making that folder a few swipes away, gives just…

--

--

Amanda Mae

Amanda Mae is a librarian who has lived in too many states and enjoys anything involving books, history, and productivity.