My Realistic Morning Routine

Amanda Mae
4 min readAug 25, 2022
Image by Engin Akyurt from Pixabay

I don’t get to work from home. I work with the public every day, so that’s not even an option. I’m lucky that I have a 20-minute walking commute and don’t need to worry about traffic. But I don’t have a very Instagram-able morning routine to share on social media. So what does my morning look like?

6 am
My alarm goes off but I generally press snooze and give myself another 10 minutes or so before I wake up. Don’t you judge me.

6:10 am
I grab my phone that’s now off Night Mode and see if there are any pressing notifications. Usually there is not. I don’t get push notifications for email, so I open my Gmail app and very quickly delete the junk. Sometimes I get ambitious and unsubscribe from mailing lists I never open, but that comes in spurts. I really should get better about that.

6:15 am
I get out of bed and stretch a bit. My hips pop. I tend to have a slight kink in my neck or shoulder. I’m over 30, so that is just how it is.

6:17 am
I make my way to the kitchen and get a serving of steel cut oats in the cooker. I used to make oatmeal in a pot on the stove (I didn’t have a microwave for years), but when I got married my husband brought a steel cut oats cooker to the marriage and I made the switch. It’s nice because it can cook while I go…

--

--

Amanda Mae

Amanda Mae is a librarian who has lived in too many states and enjoys anything involving books, history, and productivity.